Houston has 5 "kill shelters" located within its city limits
Together, these 5 "shelters" kill approximately 80,000 pets every year.
1) Houston's city animal control i.e. BARC
2) Harris County animal control
3) Houston SPCA
4) Houston Humane Society
5) Citizens for Animal Protection i.e. CAP

HOUSTON ANIMAL SHELTER STATISTICS
Mayor Sylvester Turner
City of Houston
P.O. Box 1562
Houston, TX 77251
Phone: 832.393.1000
Fax: 832.393.1084
mayor@houstontx.gov

Council Member At Large #1
Mike Knox
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3014
Fax: 832.303.3347
atlarge1@houstontx.gov

Council Member At Large #2
David W. Robinson
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3013
Fax: 832.393.3336
atlarge2@houstontx.gov

Council Member At Large #3
Michael Kubosh
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3005
Fax: 832.393.3251
atlarge3@houstontx.gov

Council Member At Large #4
Amanda Edwards
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
phone: 832.393.3012
Fax: 832.393.3327
atlarge4@houstontx.gov

Council Member At Large #5
Jack Christie
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3017
FAX: 832.393.3261
atlarge5@houstontx.gov



​​​​
Click here to search Houston City Ordinances

Houston city ordinance, Section 6-102 requires that animal control hold animals for 3 calendar days before killing or offering for adoption.

Click HERE or HERE to find your city council member
Click HERE to find your voting location
Houston called the center for animal cruelty because of high kill rates in 5 Houston area "shelters" (start listening at 16:33)
Council Member District A
Brenda Stardig
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3010
Fax: 832.393.3302
districta@houstontx.gov

Council Member District B
Jerry Davis
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3009
Fax: 832.393.3291
districtb@houstontx.gov

Council Member District C
Ellen Cohen
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3004
Fax: 832.393.3239
districtc@houstontx.gov

Council Member District D
Dwight Boykins
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3001
Fax: 832.393.3201
districtd@houstontx.gov

Council Member District E
Dave Martin
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3008
Fax: 832.393.3279
districte@houstontx.gov

Council Member District F
Steve Le
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3002
Fax:
districtf@houstontx.gov


All mayor and city council member email addresses are below, so that you can easily cut and paste all into an email.

mayor@houstontx.govatlarge1@houstontx.gov, atlarge2@houstontx.gov, atlarge3@houstontx.gov, atlarge4@houstontx.gov, atlarge5@houstontx.gov, districta@houstontx.gov, districtb@houstontx.gov, districtc@houstontx.gov, districtd@houstontx.gov, districte@houstontx.gov, districtf@houstontx.gov, districtg@houstontx.gov, districth@houstontx.gov, districti@houstontx.gov, districtj@houstontx.gov, districtk@houstontx.gov
Current Houston Mayor and City council members contact information
Council Member District G
Greg Travis
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3007
Fax: 832.395.9571
districtg@cityofhouston.net

Council Member District H
Karla Cisneros
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3003
Fax: 832.393.3224
districth@houstontx.gov

Council Member District I
Robert Gallegos
900 Bagby, 1st Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3011
Fax: 832.393.3313
districti@houstontx.gov

Council Member District J
Mike Laster
900 Bagby, First Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3015
FAX: 832.395.9423
districtj@houstontx.gov

Council Member District K
Larry Green
900 Bagby, First Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.3016
FAX: 832.395.9410
districtk@houstontx.gov

​There are now over 500 cities/towns who have Open Admission, No Kill shelters and pounds. 

​​Houston can join them, with hard working leadership, who is dedicated to saving lives!

HOUSTON VOTERS FOR COMPANION ANIMALS
LIFE SAVING SHOULD NOT BE AN OPTION, ​IT SHOULD BE THE LAW
* Click here to read international, No Kill expert, Nathan Winograd's 2009 assessment of Houston's city animal control facility i.e. BARC
BARC Shelter Manager
Greg Damianoff
P.O. Box 1562
Houston, TX 77251
Phone: 713.837-9630
Fax: 713.837.0631
greg.damianoff@houstontx.gov

ARA Director (over BARC)
Tina Paez, Director
611 Walker, 13th Floor
Houston, TX 77002
Phone: 832.393.8501
tina.paez@houstontx.gov
aracontactus@houstontx.gov

BARC's facility
3200 Carr
Houston, TX 77026
Phone: 713.229.7300
Fax: 713.238.2189
​​